Rituals
Certain spells have a special tag: ritual. Such a spell can be cast following the normal rules for spellcasting, or the spell can be cast as a ritual. The ritual version of a spell takes longer to cast than normal, as defined by the following table:
| Spell Level | Casting Time (Minutes) |
|---|---|
| 1 | 1 |
| 2 | 5 |
| 3 | 10 |
| 4 | 15 |
| 5 | 20 |
| 6 | 30 |
| 7 | 45 |
| 8 | 60 |
| 9 | 90 |
| 10 | 120 |
Rituals also don’t consume mana, which means that the ritual version of a spell can’t be cast at a higher level.
To cast a spell as a ritual, a spellcaster must have the spell prepared or on his or her list of spells known, unless the character’s ritual feature specifies otherwise, as the wizard’s does.